A confused otter’s mumblings and rumblings

Monday, 25th August, 2014

Innocent guilty pleasure

Filed under: Humans, Mammals, Pleasure — Otter @ 05:20

I walk by the bus station. A young woman is looking carefully over the timetable, knees slightly bent, hands on thighs to balance herself, the curves of her bottom discernable in the creases of her chinos. She glances around nervously, catches my eye as I continue past, inhaling briefly in shock, and turns back with embarrassment to the schedules, position unmodified. She is extremely pretty, and scared of her power.

I keep walking after one last look back. Transience is the only intransient, and soon I will forget her. She will become just a whisper of a dream.

And then I realise that was my bus stop too, the one I needed to get where I need to go. So I turn back, scared and glad.

And she is still waiting as I arrive, still nervous, running over to the timetable every few seconds to confirm something or learn something new about Hong Kong’s public transportation system. I watch her legs as she does so, marvelling that their colour and shape alone can be so erotic. 

By the fifth time she scurries, I laugh at her, too loudly; she probably notices, and scampers to the other side of the stop, movements so controlled, as though she is scared of some violation. Another bus comes, and this time she is gone. 

And now I am on my bus smiling, pleased by the hold of simple beauty, by innocent pleasures, and by the lightness I feel when I stop worrying and allow myself to just enjoy.

1 Comment »

  1. ke onda!!nio tmb keria ir a verlos a mtyna poko ia fueron este au00f1o???nai me avisan xfa zi van a volverna ir… m nkantaria ir anuno d zuz konciertos!!!ntankz xhao Come on http://tropaadet.dk/lorainestevens3094081845

    Comment by lorainestevens3094 — Friday, 8th April, 2016 @ 10:54


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

